Top 7 Entrepreneurs from Somalia To Look Out For
Major politicians from Chad

List of Tunisian Presidents and their accomplishments

by David Acheampong on August 1, 2017

Tunisia is a North African country bordering the Mediterranean Sea and the Sahara Desert. In the capital, Tunis, the Bardo Museum has archaeological exhibits from Roman mosaics to Islamic art. The city’s medina quarter encompasses the massive Al-Zaytuna Mosque and a thriving souk.

Presidents play a factor in the way our society is built either in a negative way or a positive way. In most third world countries in the African continent, having a president is essential to some extent, depending on how much help is needed to build a stable economy. For this article, I would be naming a few presidents that have led the beautiful country Tunisia.

Habib Bourguiba was appointed President by the Parliament on July 25, 1957, until the election of a permanent president. He played a major role in obtaining independence from France, ending the 75 years old protectorate and earning the title of “Supreme Combatant”.

Zine El Abidine Ben Ali was Prime Minister and Minister of Interior under President Bourguiba. Ben Ali impeached Bourguiba for medical purposes on November 7, 1987, thus assuming the office of second and acting President of Tunisia, until the election of a permanent president.

Fouad Mebazaa was, at first, designated by the Constitutional Council to serve as an acting President, on January 15, 2011. He was active in Neo Destour prior to Tunisian independence, served as Minister of Youth and Sports, Minister of Public Health, and Minister of Culture and Information, and was President of the Chamber of Deputies of Tunisia.

Moncef Marzouki was elected 3rd President of Tunisia by the Tunisian Constituent Assembly, on December 12, 2011. The next day, he was inaugurated, making him the first president not to be a member of the ruling party.

Beji Caid Essebsi became the 4th and the first democratically elected president by universal suffrage after the Revolution, on December 21, 2014. He is the current President of Tunisia since December 31, 2014. He is also the founder of the Nidaa Tounes political party, which won a plurality in the 2014 parliamentary election.

What's your reaction?
I Love It
It's OK
I'm Sad
I Hate It
David Acheampong
My name is David Acheampong. An African-American born in West Africa Ghana. I am the type of person that is really into living a healthy lifestyle because I believe health is wealth. I always make it a priority of mine to make sure I have time for a workout with a couple of my friends. Whenever I am not in the gym, I am either home watching movies, reading personal growth books or hanging with my close friends. I love to enjoy life because I believe that every day that we live to walk this earth is a blessing that shouldn't ever be taken for granted. I believe I am one of the most ambitious, hardworking, determined and very persistent gentleman to walk on the face of the earth and those are my quality traits I wouldn't trade for anything.